'MaddAddam' wraps up Atwood's brilliant dystopian trilogy

2013-08-31T07:00:00Z 'MaddAddam' wraps up Atwood's brilliant dystopian trilogyBy Jeremy Kohler jkohler@post-dispatch.com stltoday.com

How much more can Mother Earth take of this human race? With her dystopian trilogy MaddAddam, author Margaret Atwood posits that it may be time for some better caretakers.

In Atwood’s dark satire, nature withers from genetic modification, ceaseless consumption and corporate greed. Corrupt companies placate the plebes with crappy TV, sex clubs and fast food of questionable origin (think Soylent Green). The elite work and play, and screw with DNA, in fortified compounds. Human hair is farmed on the backs of sheep, and human organs in monster pigs known as pigoons.

Each book concerns the events before and after a manmade plague — a waterless flood, as a hippie cult known as God’s Gardeners calls it — sweeps most of humankind from the earth.

The human race reboot is fully underway in the final book, also titled “MaddAddam,” which goes on sale Tuesday. The book brilliantly wraps up Atwood’s apocalyptic vision and leaves the reader feeling hopeful for a better world.

A young genius named Crake unleashes a bioweapon to clear the way for his new breed of perfect, genetically modified humans born in his paradise lab. The “Crakers” eat kudzu. They don’t need housing, clothing or meat, and they don’t behave in any way that Crake believed harmed other life forms or the planet. They gangbang when their genitals turn blue, which means every child has four fathers. (Get it ... forefathers? Crake’s little joke.) Jealousy, shame, guilt and guile are not in the DNA.

When Crake offs himself, his hapless buddy Jimmy, one of a few survivors from the old human race, must lead the Children of Crake out of the lab.

The MaddAddam books are concurrent, but by no means repetitive. Readers can enter the trilogy in Book 3 and read the books in backward order, like the palindrome of its name. (Reading them in order, however, is still recommended.)

At the end of Book 1, “Oryx and Crake,” Jimmy and the Crakers encounter a group of plague survivors on the beach. Jimmy wonders, should he join them or finish his friend’s work and kill them? “The Year of the Flood,” retells the flood with different voices, and introduces God’s Gardeners, led by the prophet Adam One. Book 2 ends with the same scene on the beach, but now we know the players.

Book 3 tells the story of the group that broke off from God’s Gardeners to wage a guerrilla war of bioterror against the corporations, ultimately helping Crake deliver his apocalypse.

And it tells the last great love story of the human race, between a rogue hacker named Zeb who helped Crake bring about end times; and our heroine, Toby, who helps the Children of Crake, insatiably curious about their origin, piece together a belief system by relating the stories of Crake, Jimmy and Zeb.

Atwood chafes at the term “science fiction,” which she says describes phenomena like time travel that are unlikely to happen. Every bad trend that destroyed the MaddAddam world could occur in our world.

Several are already in full bloom. A few weeks ago, I asked Atwood via Twitter to pinpoint the date when the histories of MaddAddam world and ours began to diverge. She responded, “What do you mean by real world, earthling?” I couldn’t respond because I wasn’t sure.

{hr /}‘MaddAddam’

A novel by Margaret Atwood

Published by Nan A. Talese, 416 pages, $27.95

On sale Tuesday

Copyright 2015 stltoday.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.