Molina, Wainwright, Miller are finalists for BBWAA Awards

2013-11-05T17:50:00Z 2013-11-06T00:29:06Z Molina, Wainwright, Miller are finalists for BBWAA AwardsBy Rick Hummel 314-340-8196

The Cardinals, who had the best record in the National League this season and tied with World Series champion Boston for the best in the majors at 97-65, will have a chance to earn several individual awards, too. But their manager won’t.

Gold Glove Catcher Yadier Molina was announced tonight as one of the three finalists for the National League Most Valuable Player award to be given by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

Others in line for personal awards, as announced on the MLB Network, were righthander Adam Wainwright for the Cy Young Award and righthander Shelby Miller for rookie of the year. Manager Mike Matheny finished somewhere behind the three finalists in his category _ Pittsburgh’s Clint Hurdle, Atlanta’s Fredi Gonzalez and Los Angeles’ Don Mattingly.

St. Louis native Max Scherzer, a Detroit Tigers righthander who won the most games in the majors at 21, was named one of three Cy Young Award candidates in the American League.

Outfielder Andrew McCutchen of Pittsburgh and Arizona’s Paul Goldschmidt were the other MVP finalists in the National League.

Los Angeles’ Clay Kershaw, who had a league-leading 1.83 earned run average, and Miami’s Jose Fernandez, also nominated for rookie of the year, were the other Cy Young Award finalists in the NL.

The other National League rookie of the year finalist was outfielder Yasiel Puig of the Dodgers.

In the American League the finalists were:

MVP _ Third baseman Miguel Cabrera, Detroit; center fielder Mike Trout, Los Angeles; first baseman Chris Davis, Baltimore.

Cy Young _ Scherzer; righthander Yu Darvish, Texas; righthander Hisashi Iwakuma, Seattle.

Rookie of the year _ Righthander Chris Archer, Tampa Bay; outfielder Wil Myers, Tampa Bay; shortstop Jose Iglesias, Boston-Detroit.

Manager of the year _ John Farrell, Boston; Terry Francona, Cleveland; Bob Melvin, Oakland.

All the BBWAA award winners will be revealed next week, from Monday through Thursday, at 5 p.m., St. Louis time. In order, the awards to be given are rookie of the year on Monday, manager of the year on Tuesday, Cy Young Award on Wednesday and MVP on Thursday.

Two voters in every city in both leagues voted for each of the four National League and American League awards, based only on regular-season play. Thus, Miller’s 15 regular-season wins were considered by the voters, rather than the one inning he pitched in the three rounds of October’s postseason tournament.

Rick is a baseball writer/columnist at the Post-Dispatch 


Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Cardinal Beat

Baseball writers Derrick Goold and Rick Hummel cover the Cardinals for the Post-Dispatch and They'll provide daily Cardinals updates here, from the start of spring training through the end of the season and beyond.

Get weekly ads via e-mail