DeWitt leads MLB committee in commissioner search

2014-05-16T00:50:00Z 2014-05-28T20:28:54Z DeWitt leads MLB committee in commissioner searchBy Dan O'Neill

Cardinals chairman Bill DeWitt Jr. has been picked to chair a new seven-member committee to facilitate the process of selecting a new baseball commissioner.

The commissioner's office and executive council announced the formation of the committee on Thursday. Bud Selig announced last September his plans to retire upon the completion of his current term, which runs through January 24, 2015.

In addition to DeWitt, the succession committee includes Colorado Rockies owner Dick Monfort, Philadelphia president David Montgomery, Los Angeles Angels owner Arte Moreno, Pittsburgh chairman Bob Nutting, Minnesota Twins CEO Jim Pohlad and Chicago White Sox chairman Jerry Reinsdorf.

“Our committee will conduct a thorough, discreet process and ultimately will provide guidance to the executive council on identifying a successor,” DeWitt said in a statement. “All of the parties involved share the goal of acting in our game’s best interests, and thus we will refrain from commenting out of respect for the confidentiality of the process.”

Selig has led Major League Baseball since September 9, 1992, when he became interim commissioner. He was unanimously elected baseball’s ninth commissioner on July 9, 1998.

Copyright 2015 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Get weekly ads via e-mail