Haith misses out on Big 12 coaching award

2012-03-05T00:00:00Z 2012-03-05T00:20:06Z Haith misses out on Big 12 coaching awardBY VAHE GREGORIAN vgregorian@post-dispatch.com > 314-340-8199 stltoday.com

Mizzou's Marcus Denmon was named first-team All-Big 12 on Sunday, as voted by the conference coaches. Ricardo Ratliffe was second-team choice, Kim English and Phil Pressey were third-team and Michael Dixon was named the league's top sixth man and earned a spot on the all-defensive team.

But MU coach Frank Haith, considered a top candidate for national coach of the year with his surprising 27-4 team, was beaten out by Kansas coach Bill Self and Iowa State coach Fred Hoiberg as the conference co-coaches of the season.

Kansas won its eighth straight league title, perhaps obscuring the fact that Self worked with a much-changed team. Hoiberg has engineered the biggest turnaround in Big 12 history, with this season's Cyclones going from 3-13 and last in league play a year ago to 12-6 and a No. 3 seed for the conference tournament this season.

Kansas' Thomas Robinson was named player of the year, and Iowa State's Royce White was the newcomer of the year. KU's Jeff Withey earned the defensive player of the year award. Oklahoma State's Le'Bryan Nash and Baylor's Quincy Miller shared honors as top freshmen.

Copyright 2015 stltoday.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Highlights Sports features Gossip

Get weekly ads via e-mail