BLUES EXTRAS

Update: NHL won't take action on hit to Tarasenko's head

2013-02-21T14:00:00Z 2013-03-09T20:44:34Z Update: NHL won't take action on hit to Tarasenko's headSTLTODAY.COM SPORTS stltoday.com
February 21, 2013 2:00 pm  • 

Thursday update:

The NHL will assess no further discipline on Colorado's Mark Olver after his jarring hit on the Blues' Vladimir Tarasenko Wednesday night.

The league acknowledged the point of contact was Tarasenko's head, but the hit did not meet the criteria of the rule for an illegal check to the head. Rule 48.1 describes an illegal hit as one "resulting in contact with an opponent's head where the head is targeted and the principal point of contact."

NHL Vice President-Player Safety Brendan Shanahan told the Post-Dispatch today that the league reviewed Olver's hit and determined that no further discipline was required.

"Just because we don't pursue a hearing doesn't mean we haven't reviewed it extensively," Shanahan said. "When we looked at it last night, and we revisited it again this morning, we felt that although there was principal contact to the head, the second element for the rule to be called, 'targeting,' was not there on this play. And our job is to enforce the rules that are in the rulebook. That's the rule...it has to have both elements."

Olver did not receive a penalty on the play.

Tarasenko was taken to a Denver-area hospital after the hit, but did return to St. Louis with the team. He is being re-evaluated today for an upper-body injury, but the club has no further update at this point.

* * *

STLtoday.com's earlier story:

DENVER • The Blues may have lost rookie Vladimir Tarasenko for a bit after Wednesday's 1-0 loss to Colorado.

Tarasenko took a shot to the head  on a check in the third period.

He had to be helped from the ice and television replays suggested he was significantly stunned.

IN BLUES TALK: Fans are riled up about the hit on Tarasenko

He was taken to a nearby hospital for examination.

The good news: Tarasenko was on the Blues' plane coming home.

Officially, he has an upper-body injury.

Copyright 2015 stltoday.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

VIDEOS
Highlights Sports features Gossip

Get weekly ads via e-mail