Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Music review: Missouri Chamber Music Festival takes a satisfying journey

Music review: Missouri Chamber Music Festival takes a satisfying journey

Scott Andrews and Nina Ferrigno

Scott Andrews and Nina Ferrigno are co-directors of the Missouri Chamber Music Festival.

The young Missouri Chamber Music Festival, which concluded its fourth season on Sunday afternoon, has found a nice rhythm for its offerings.

This year, they included a morning coffee concert, a 5 p.m. commuter concert and an early-start evening performance, all at a handy suburban venue, with a pair of important chamber works at the Sheldon Concert Hall to close out the season. The performers include a good mix of fine players from the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra and top-notch out-of-towners.

Saturday evening at First Congregational Church of Webster Groves, the Festival offered a relatively brief program of varied chamber fare, with its married co-founders/co-directors both taking important musical roles.

It began with Robert Schumann’s “Märchenerzählungen (Fairy Tales)” for clarinet, viola, and piano, op. 132, performed by co-founder Scott Andrews, principal clarinet of the SLSO, with violist Amadi Azikiwe and pianist Hugh Hinton.

Despite a few rough spots, it was a satisfying reading. Andrews played with beautiful tone throughout. Azikiwe seemed to have some technical difficulties with his instrument, with notably rough tones early on that were largely cleared up after a few moments’ adjustments. Hinton’s work was new to me, but he’s clearly a rock-solid and experienced performer.

The three of them offered good ensemble work, particularly in the lyrical third movement, and provided a strong finish. They had to cope with a cellphone’s clarion flood warnings, but the noise didn’t harm the high quality of their music-making.

Hinton returned for the second work, the original piano four-hands duet version of Maurice Ravel’s “Ma mère l’oye (Mother Goose),” taking the north end of the keyboard while co-founder Nina Ferrigno took the south end.

The first episode, “Pavane de la Belle au Bois Dormant (Pavane of Sleeping Beauty)” seemed a little stilted, but the pair soon hit their stride (and took further weather alarms in their stride as well), in a well-coordinated, enjoyable reading that made the most of Ravel’s colorful, imaginative score.

The second half contained just one work, but it was a major one. Johannes Brahms wrote his “Piano Quartet in C minor,” op. 60, as a young man torn between concern for his friend Robert Schumann, and a passionate love for Schumann’s wife, Clara. He later revised it, but the youthful tumult remains in the score.

A fine group of players — violinist Maria Schleuning, Azikiwe (with no more roughness to his tone), cellist Kurt Baldwin and Hinton, the MVP for this particular concert — took a sensitive, well-considered journey, from the quiet, suspenseful opening through the dramatic conclusion.

The Festival, which concluded Sunday, has made itself an important part of the early-summer season. Here’s to next year.

Stay up-to-date on what's happening

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sarah Bryan Miller is the classical music critic for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch; she has also written on a variety of other topics.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.



Blues News

Breaking News

Cardinals News

Daily 6

National Breaking News