Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
'Open City' wins PEN/Hemingway

'Open City' wins PEN/Hemingway

'Open City'


"Open City" by Teju Cole has won the 2012 Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award for a distinguished first book of fiction.

"Written in a deceptively quiet voice, Teju Cole's remarkable and penetrating debut novel achieves what Kafka said art should; it chops the frozen sea within us," said novelist and PEN award judge Andre Dubus III, quoted in a press release.

The award finalists are Amy Waldman for "The Submission" and Stephanie Powell Watts for "We Are Taking Only What We Need" (BkMk Press). BkMk Press is based in Kansas City at the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

Two writers will receive honorable mention: Marjorie Hudson for "Accidental Birds of the Carolinas" and Chad Harbach for "The Art of Fielding."

Patrick Hemingway, the son of writer Ernest Hemingway, will present the award to Cole on April 1, at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum in Boston.

For more info:

Stay up-to-date on what's happening

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News


National News