Subscribe for $3 for three months
Brian Owens

Brian Owens. Photo by Jarred Gastreich

Brian Owens is gearing up for his next new album, “Love Came Down,” a fact we know from the appearance of two singles he released today everywhere -- “Sparrow” and “Cool Water (Justice Runs Down Like).”

“Sparrow” is a cover of a little-known Marvin Gaye song. Keeping the song in the Gaye vein is “Cool Water (Justice Runs Down Like),” co-written by Owens.

Featured on both songs on trumpeter Keyon Harrold, percussionist Daniel Sadownick, and a rhythm section made up of Peter Martin, Jon Cowherd, Steve Potts, Sherrod Barnes and Stephan Crump, known as the Royal Five.

In a statement, he calls the songs a true reflection of life's beauty and trials. "For me, these songs are a constant reminder of what justice and beauty are really all about -- God."

The album was recorded at Royal Recording Studios in Memphis with Jay Newland and Boo Mitchell.

Stream or download both songs wherever you stream and download.