Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Krewson withdraws all of her freeholder nominees, says she will submit new names

Krewson withdraws all of her freeholder nominees, says she will submit new names

Subscribe for $1 a month
Board of Freeholders holds first meeting,

St. Louis Mayor Lyda Krewson, left, sits to the side as the Board of Freeholders begins it's first meeting without any residents of the city on the board inside the aldermanic chambers at St. Louis City Hall on Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019. Mayor Krewson has nominated nine city residents to sit on the Board of Freeholders but her nominations were blocked by St. Louis aldermen who demanded that she include more north St. Louis residents on her slate. During the first meeting of the Board of Freeholders the members of the board representing St. Louis County and the state of Missouri held off on having any substantive discussion because they're hopeful the city will soon approve their nine representatives. Photo by David Carson,

ST. LOUIS — Mayor Lyda Krewson on Monday withdrew eight nominees to the Board of Freeholders and said she would submit new nominees after the Board of Aldermen’s new session begins April 21.

Formation of the board was triggered by a petition drive begun by county municipal leaders as an alternative to the Better Together city-county merger plan.

But the process has stalled for six months, first while Krewson and the leaders of an aldermanic committee wrestled over the makeup of the city delegation, and now because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

In a letter to Board of Aldermen President Lewis Reed and Alderman Sharon Tyus, Krewson said she was withdrawing the nominations of Dwinderlin “Dwin” Evans and Dan Zdrodowski because they are seeking other public office. Evans, a Democrat, is seeking the aldermanic seat held by Sam Moore, D-4th Ward, who died in February. Zdrodowski has filed as a Republican candidate for circuit attorney.

Krewson also said she was withdrawing the names of Democrats Bridget Flood, Jerry Schlichter and Antonio French, Republican Joe Hodes and independents Eddie Roth and Jon-Pierre Mitchom “in light of the COVID-19 crisis.”

Krewson’s ninth nominee, Democrat JoAnn Williams, withdrew from consideration earlier this year.

The freeholders board is composed of nine city representatives, nine appointees of County Executive Sam Page and one named by Gov. Mike Parson.

The Missouri Constitution requires Krewson’s appointees to be approved by the Board of Aldermen. Page’s have been approved by the County Council, but one of Page’s appointees, Mark Mantovani, stepped down to challenge Page in the August Democratic primary for county executive.

Concerned about COVID-19?

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

"We easily will hit six-figure numbers in terms of the number of cases," Michael Osterholm, director of the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota, said Friday night. "And the deaths are going to go up precipitously in the next three to four weeks."

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Blues News

Breaking News

Cardinals News

Daily 6

National Breaking News