Subscribe for 99¢

Updates with photo from New York Daily News.

Is there a newspaper feud brewing over Johan Santana's no-hitter?

The New York Daily News ran a story in Sunday's paper commenting about Saturday's Post-Dispatch sports front, with the headline No-Hitter* (with the asterisk) and the follow-up *Santana throws gem with help of missed call."

The missed call in question was a Carlos Beltran liner that was ruled foul, despite replays clearly showing it was fair.

 The Daily news reported:

"Johan Santana is the Prince of New York after his historic feat of pitching the first no-hitter in Mets history Friday night, but it seems the folks in St. Louis want to put their own stamp on the gem he pitched against the Cardinals."

After describing the Post-Dispatch front page, the Daily News threw in this barb.

"Apparently, the Post-Dispatch couldn’t locate the asterisk key while Mark McGwire was swatting 220 steroid-aided home runs while a member of the Cardinals and setting bogus records in St. Louis."

Interesting that in the Daily News poll about the evening, more of their readers said their most memorable moment of the evening was Beltran's liner than the final strikeout of David Freese.