Subscribe for $3 for three months

Four first-responders from the St. Louis area are among 10 to be honored Monday by Gov. Jay Nixon in a Missouri Medal of Valor ceremony.

They are recognized for extraordinary acts of heroism to save lives during 2015.

The area recipients are:

• Jefferson County sheriff’s Capt. David L. Marshak and Cpl. Bryan R. Taylor. On Sept. 10, 2015, they saved a man, 85, from a burning van on the shoulder of Highway 141. Both officers suffered smoke inhalation and Marshak was treated for abrasions. Marshak was elected sheriff this month.

• Paramedic Jordan V. Selsor, of the Meramec Ambulance District, which is based in Villa Ridge. On Dec. 29, 2015, he rode the bucket of a farmer’s front loader through floodwater in an area between Catawissa and Pacific and climbed onto a floating car to break out a sunroof and rescue a trapped motorist.

• Officer Jeffrey A. Haislip, of the St. Charles Police Department. On the night of Feb. 4, 2015, he forced open doors to a burning home on Third Street and, with no protective gear, went in and carried a woman, 86, to safety.

Others to be honored are Jason A. Jameson, formerly a sergeant with the Boone County Sheriff’s Department; Officer Charles L. Gerhart, of Missouri Capitol Police; Trooper Jason M. Hurt, of the Missouri Highway Patrol Troop B; Cpl. David H. Brown and Trooper Robert W. Garrett, of patrol Troop D; and Firefighter Michael J. Kuss, of the Springfield Fire Department.

The ceremony will be at 1:30 p.m. Monday in the governor’s office at the Missouri Capitol in Jefferson City.