Subscribe for 99¢
Circuit Judge Nancy Schneider

Circuit Judge Nancy Schneider

ST. CHARLES COUNTY   •   Longtime St. Charles County Circuit Judge Nancy Schneider has decided to retire at the end of the year, spurring a Republican primary race to succeed her.

Grant Gorman, who was named to a newly-created associate circuit judgeship last April, and attorney Deborah Alessi signed up Tuesday to run for the GOP nomination to succeed Schneider.

Meanwhile, assistant county prosecutor Rebeca McKelvey and attorney Michael Fagras filed to run in the GOP primary for Gorman's associate judgeship.

They were among the candidates registering on the first day of filings for the August primary. No Democrats filed for either judgeship.

Schneider, 67, has been on the bench since she was appointed to fill an associate circuit judge vacancy in 1991 by then-Gov. John Ashcroft, a fellow Republican.

She moved up to circuit judge by successfully challenging Democratic incumbent Grace Nichols, a former St. Charles mayor, in the 1998 election.

Schneider was re-elected in 2004 and 2010. She currently is the court's presiding judge.

There were no major surprises among other first-day filings for other posts up for election in the county.

Two previously-announced candidates for the state Senate seat for the eastern part of the county - state Rep. Anne Zerr of St. Charles and businessman Bill Eigel of Weldon Spring - filed as expected.

So did Wentzville Municipal Judge Michael Carter, who lives near Cottleville.  He had said previously he might run. All three are Republicans.  No Democrats filed, but Libertarian candidate Bill Slantz did.

The seat was formerly held by the GOP's Tom Dempsey of St. Charles, who resigned last summer with more than a year left in his final term under the state's term limit law.

GOP candidates filing for Zerr's House seat were magazine publisher Tom Hannegan and Missouri House aide Adam Schnelting.  Both had announced their candidacies previously.

Democrat Curtis Wells and Republican Nick Schroer signed up to run for the seat now held by Rep. Ron Hicks, a Republican who isn't seeking another term. He is running in the April election for mayor of St. Peters.

Republican Phil Christofanelli of St. Peters filed to run to succeed term-limited GOP Rep. Mark Parkinson, who lives near St. Peters.

Three Republican county councilmen - Mike Klinghammer, Joe Brazil and Dave Hammond - all filed Tuesday for re-election and drew no immediate opposition.

Also registering to seek re-election - so far without opposition - were Republican Reps. Bryan Spencer of Wentzville, Bart Korman of High Hill, Robert Cornejo of St. Peters, Kurt Bahr and John Wiemann of O'Fallon, Kathie Conway and Chrissy Sommer of unincorporated county and Justin Hill of Lake Saint Louis.

Political Fix e-newsletter

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.