Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

Carlos Beltran joins Scott Rolen as former Cardinals on 2023 Hall of Fame ballot

  • 0
Cardinals v Red Sox in Game 5 of the World Series

Carlos Beltran singles in the second inning of Game 5 of the 2013 World Series, against the Boston Red Sox, on Monday, Oct. 28 in St. Louis. 

Carlos Beltran — a nine-time All-Star who made two appearances in the Midsummer Classic while with the Cardinals — joined Scott Rolen and other former Cards on the 2023 Hall of Fame ballot, which was released Monday.

Beltran spent the 2012 and 2013 seasons with St. Louis. As a part of the 2013 National League pennant-winning Cardinals, Beltran batted .296, drove in 84 RBIs, and posted an .852 OPS in 17 playoff games that postseason.

Over his 20-year career, Beltran collected 2,725 hits, hit 435 home runs, and batted .279. He won the American League Rookie of the Year award in 1999 during his time in Kansas City, won three Gold Gloves, and two Silver Sluggers and was a part of the 2017 Houston team that won the World Series.

This will be Rolen’s sixth year on the ballot. The chances of Rolen’s potential induction into Cooperstown have steadily increased and could come within the next year or two as he moves closer to the 75% of the vote that is required to be enshrined.

The nine-time Gold Glover received 43 votes (10.2%) of the 422 total ballots cast during his first year of eligibility in 2018. Last year, Rolen’s support reached its highest yet as he got 63.2% of the vote by appearing on 249 out of 394 ballots.

A player can remain on the ballot for up to 10 years but must receive at least 5% of the vote to remain on it.

For his career, Rolen batted .281, hit 316 homers and had 2,077 hits. He made four consecutive All-Star teams as a Cardinal from 2003-2006, won Glove Gloves in three of those seasons and finished fourth in National League MVP voting in 2004. The 2006 World Series champion also was named Rookie of the Year award in 1997 while with Philadelphia.

Pitcher John Lackey and infielder Jhonny Peralta also are former Cardinals to debut on this year’s ballot. Lackey finished his career as a three-time World Series winner with those coming with the Angels (2002), Red Sox (2013) and Cubs (2016). He was traded to the Cardinals in 2014 in a deal that sent pitcher Joe Kelly and outfielder and first baseman Allen Craig to Boston. In 2015, Lackey went 13-10 with a 2.77 ERA over 218 innings and finished ninth in NL Cy Young voting.

Peralta played his final four MLB seasons for St. Louis, from 2014-2017, and made an All-Star appearance in 2015. He batted .267 for his career and hit 202 home runs. He was an All-Star twice for Detroit.

Other players included on the ballot this year are Bobby Abreu, Bronson Arroyo, Mark Buehrle, Matt Cain, R.A. Dickey, Jacoby Ellsbury, Andre Ethier, J.J. Hardy, Todd Helton, Torii Hunter, Andruw Jones, Jeff Kent, Mike Napoli, Andy Pettitte, Manny Ramirez, Alex Rodriguez, Francisco Rodriguez, Jimmy Rollins, Gary Sheffield, Huston Street, Omar Vizquel, Billy Wagner, Jered Weaver, and Jayson Werth.

Voters have until Dec. 31 to mail in their ballots. The results will be announced on Jan. 24.

In today’s 10 a.m. video, columnist Ben Hochman discusses the legacy of Stan Musial (.331 career batting average!), the St. Louis Cardinals’ late legend, born this day in 1920. And, as always, Hochman picks a random St. Louis Cards card from the hat. Ten Hochman is presented by Window Nation!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News


National News