Subscribe: $5 for 5 months!
Colorado Rockies vs St. Louis Cardinals

The Cardinals' Jack Flaherty pitches in the first inning of game against the Colorado Rockies at Busch Stadium in St. Louis on Friday, Aug. 23, 2019. (David Carson,

Cardinals righthander Jack Flaherty, whose remarkable second half earned him Cy Young Award consideration, will be among those honored on Sunday, Jan. 19 at the 62nd annual St. Louis Baseball Writers’ Dinner. It takes place at the Marriott Grand Hotel.

Flaherty will receive the J.G. Taylor Spink Award as the St. Louis baseball man of the year. Other current Cardinals to be honored are second baseman Kolten Wong, rookie pitchers Dakota Hudson and Giovanny Gallegos, first baseman Paul Goldschmidt and manager Mike Shildt. Wong will be presented his first Gold Glove and Shildt will receive his National League manager of the year award, as voted on by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Longtime Cardinals star Ted Simmons, who is on the veterans’ committee Hall of Fame ballot for next week’s vote, will be awarded the Red Medal in honor of the late Red Schoendienst for invaluable service to baseball.

Colorful Will Clark, who closed his career with a flourish for the Cardinals in the final three months of 2000, will receive the Burnes Nostalgia Award on the 20th anniversary of his magical run. Baseball historian and sabermetrics founder Bill James will receive the Branch Rickey Award for innovation in baseball.

Chairman Tom Stillman, representing the Stanley Cup champion Blues, will receive the writers’ meritorious service to sports award, and Carolyn Kindle Betz, who will head American pro sports’ first female ownership with the new St. Louis soccer entry, also will be saluted.

Tickets can be obtained through MetroTix ( or by calling 314-534-1111 or 800-293-5949 or by sending check or money order to St. Louis BBWAA, 2721 South Kingshighway, St. Louis, Mo. 63139. They are priced at $250 and $150, with tables of 10 available at $2,500 and $1,500.

Cardinals radio voice John Rooney will be the master of ceremonies for the 6:15 p.m. dinner, which is one of just three in the country staged by the baseball writers’ chapter in that town. New York and Boston are the others.